Saturday, May 25, 2013

From Russia, with Love

Последный
Блог 11

          So- I've done quite a bit here in Russia in the four months I've had. I've seen the Russian ballet, made snow angels on the frozen Neva, been stuck on the wrong side of a bridge until 5:30 a.m., been yelled at by little old ladies, met Eddie Izzard in a spice market in Istanbul, and most of all met some amazing and unique people. I am really truly glad I took this chance, even if it was a little late in my college career. It has definitely helped me decide what my next few steps are in the coming ever-so-frightening "real world". I figure that if I can handle myself, not get mugged, hurt, too lost or deported in a place like Russia- I can pretty much handle myself.
Bijan's first day in the square by the Hermitage.
          I am all packed and ready to head to the airport and even now I'm running into problems that can only be answered with, "because it's Russia…" To get to the airport I have to go to the mainland over a bridge. Of course, I need to get there around 4:00 a.m. and guess when the bridge is closed? My host mom doesn't believe me that the bridges go down for only 30 minutes between 2:45 and around 3:15 and then I'm stuck until 5:00, so if I go I have to go before they open the first time. It's like arguing with a brick wall that knows better than you do- but they really don't. Personal experience has me in the right, backed up by the power of the internet and my program coordinators. Of course the bridges open at 1:25, so I'll be at the airport for a while. It's Russia… 
Inside the Church of the Spilled Blood.
          So these last two weeks!!! Lots of goodbyes, lots of cultural stuff, and best of all Bijan. He spent the week here while I had finals and said goodbye to this extremely beautiful city. We did the whole thing- St. Isaac's, the Church of the Spilled Blood, Hermitage, Peterhoff, food, boat tour around the Neva, walks down Nevsky Prospekt, and Dostoyevsky's grave. If I'm any judge, I'd say Bij had a good trip, and I really enjoyed having him here. I am glad to be coming home to end our long distance trend, even if just for a little while.  From what I could tell, he thought the city was beautiful, more European than he expected, full of grumpy Russians, full of too much walking, and too many churches. I couldn't agree more. 
A lot of gold and blue, a lot like the rest of Russia...
          Here are some extremely big generalities that I have decided about Russians (my opinions in no way reflect the views of those around me- this is just my personal perspective). At least in St. Petersburg, the people here are inherently good. They just act like everyone else in the word wishes they could. They are grumpy and frowny on the metro because they had a long day at work, it's cold/hot/raining/smells funny and they are annoyed- so they glare. I always feel the need to pretend to be happy at stores or on the light rail/bus toward other people, lest they see my bad mood. Here- they don't hold back. On the other hand, they always want the best for you. I've had more friendly 
The Bronze Horseman and
St. Isaac's in the back.
people here give me a hand or help me in some way than I could really ever have hoped for. They take a crappy situation, like inches of ice on the ground for six-seven months out of the year, while in the other months the sun doesn't bother to go down, and make it work with them. They do like to remember their suffering, and the city helps them do that, but I think that they genuinely care about other people and are overall good at heart.
          The goodbye ceremony for my program, after finals, was on a boat with pictures and champagne and a certificate of completion, and it was actually charming. I am not one for goodbyes, but it was one last hurrah with some really awesome people. Bijan also got a free boat tour around the Neva so yay! Had to say bye to my best friend, Alexa, though, 
These wonderful girls!
Alexa, Anya, Emma, Jena, Bianka and Lauren!
which was not awesome. She may come out to visit (fingers crossed) so everyone else can experience the crazy that is Sasha! We also went to Peterhoff which was pretty much amazing! The weather wasn't great but it wasn't hot so we counted it as a win. I was mildly disappointed when we figured out that the trick fountains are man operated, but the palace and fountains were breathtaking and we got to take a hydrofoil there. There's not much else to say about the last two weeks. Finals, Bijan, goodbyes, walking, packing, oh my god where did I get so much stuff, etc. I think I gave myself a proper sendoff.
          My conclusion from these four months is: I could not be luckier. I am lucky to have had this opportunity, parents to push me out into the world and help me get there, 
Red Heads last ride.
Bijan's visit, a host mom whose schedule and habits were perfectly compatible with mine, meeting a new and most amazing best friend, and diving into a language that I truly understand in a culture I really just get.  We are surly, sarcastic, and don't always like other people, but at heart these people always mean the absolute best. Sure they are all  very focused on their own destinations and goals, but they'll always help out when you need it. We've had a few nights where we meet new Russian friends and go to a bar with them, and they always make sure we get home safe- no matter how recently we met them. True signs of good people. I will miss Russia, my walk to the metro, my view and my balcony and my favorite bars  and cafes, but I'm pretty happy to be coming back home.
Peterhoff!

What's next you ask?!?!
          Well! That is a fantastic question………… ummmmmmmm…… I'll let you know!
No, but seriously- I have one more class that is four weeks long and then I am DONE with undergrad as long as my study abroad credits transfer properly (everyone send competency vibes to my college advisor- she needs it, seriously!). After that I'm taking a "year off"- you know to explore art and music… No- to find a job and get a foot in the professional door. 
SO MUCH GOLD!
I am applying to graduate school for news-broadcast journalism at CU Boulder and am hoping to start that in August of 2014 (not entirely by choice- apparently they don't accept students in January :-/). I hope to continue my Russian, maybe find a tutor or something, become more active like learning krav maga or something awesome like that, and generally figure out in which direction I  would like my career to be headed other than up. So, goals: JOB in my field, continue Russian, support myself as much as possible and overall don't screw up!

Thanks all for reading this for the last four months! Not only does it save me from telling and retelling all my stories, it also helps me to remember and filter out all my experiences to the most interesting and important! I can also now tell who my real friends are by who actually read it ;-)!!! Just kidding (kinda). Hope you all enjoyed reading it. Who knows, I may start another one to break into the right spheres.

My amazing host mom Larisa Sergeevna <3


See ya'll soon!!!!!!!!!!

P.S. What am I supposed to do with the vodka on my bedside table, now?

No comments:

Post a Comment